Original Forest of Atlanta - Dekalb County

Many fragments remain of the original forest that covered what is now Dekalb County in metropolitan Atlanta. Some of these forest fragments are formally protected from commercial logging and some are community forests. They are linked by their historical relationship to the “Original Forest of Atlanta”, a group of forests that occurs in both DeKalb County and Fulton County, GA.

Network Forests: Dekalb County forests formally protected from commercial logging

  • Briarlake Forest

  • Fernbank Forest

  • Osborne Park

  • Hidden Acres Nature Preserve

  • Lullwater Conservation Garden

  • Deepdene Park

Community Forests: DeKalb County forests designated as OGFN Community Forests

  • Daniel Johnson Nature Preserve

  • Herbert Taylor Park